Strategy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strategy?

I'm new to the game and was wondering what a good strategy was. Release album than singles? Single album single?

For new act with 0 popularity, I would start with them focusing on their home territory if it's one of the big 3 markets (meaning if the act is from either the US, UK, or Europe, start focusing in their home territory). Record 10-15 tracks cheaply, then release around three promotional singles WW, meaning singles that you don't pay to promote and print no physical copies. You will notice that their first single will sell 0 copies because no one knows who they are. So release 2 more promotional singles WW, sales will be low. Then create a set list, and start touring at small or tiny venues in their home territory, then in the other big markets. NOTE: don't release any releases you want to be successful while the acts morale is low. Low morale affects critical ratings. Once morale is recovered to at least 80%, release another promo single! then release an EP containing those four promo singles and other songs if you like shortly after. The acts first attempt will never be wildly successful unless you repeat this process multiple times, so just expect that their first album won't sell loads of copies. I would get the acts popularity to around 20-25% before releasing a lead single with low promotion and enough physical copies. Then, release a 2nd single once the first one has run out with slightly more promotion and plenty of media coverage. Wait a month, release the album with low promotion, relatively few physical copies and plenty of media coverage. Release two or three more singles after the album over time to gain popularity, record new album in the meantime, then tour first album, then you could release more promotional singles for the second album and another EP if you want more popularity. You can essentially repeat this until the act has made it big.

Comment

• Mike